November Plans

image
Enjoy California, it's good for you.

Dear Patrons,

   Squash-centric season is upon us and I couldn’t be happier about how good it is to make food for you. In you, good people, I have found the rich feedback that makes this whole food operation more successful each day. I’ve really enjoyed seeing the success of economically sustainable growth tactics inspired by writers such as Paul Hawken, Wes Jackson, and Janine Baynes. Localized food systems are key components in creating a more socially and environmentally just world.
    First, an announcement: Recently, I was asked to cater, away, for the next few weeks. Though it impedes the lunch routine, it is an offer I did not want to refuse. In the next month, my goal is to operate at the NCGA’s Winter Market. My applications are going in soon and I hope to get the green light. Additionally, however, I must obtain various permits and acquire some fancy pieces of equipment so that I can be compliant with code. Therefore, I will be working these lunch-making-magic hands to the point of mercy to bring home some proverbial bacon. A venue such as the Winter Market would allow for a lot more exposure as well as a great opportunity to expand the business. The Mung Bean Crepes are delicious, yes, but right from the grill, they’re ridiculously delicious. 
   So yes, this mean that lunch will be served next, at the beginning in December. I know it’s a long time to wait. Just to show you how much I love you, I’ve reserved a few lunches worth of Crispy Eggplant Strips for those E.L.T.s you all love so very much. If you’re just tuning in E.L.T. stands for eggplant, lettuce, tomato. 
   I encourage you reader-ly types to check out the above mentioned authors, if you’re interested in sustainable economies from an ecological perspective. The Ecology of Commerce by Hawken turned my world upside-down, the way Fast Food Nation by Schlosser did. Wes Jackson, a truly unique science communicator, is the founder ofThe Land Insitute, in Salina, KS. It is a pioneering, active agricultural lab that works on perrenial crop development modeled after native prairie grassland. Biomimicry (designed and modeled after nature and natural systems), made popular in the recently expansive area of applied sciences, is the focus of thinkers like Janine Baynus whose original 1997 publication, Biomimicry, continues to inspire innovators to recognize nature as the ultimate model for comparison.
    Food is love, Love is food does well in our community because food literacy is popular. In our unique locale, friends, neighbors, and  professional food makers alike regard their beloved sustainable farm foods as sacred tokens. Humboldtian food culture is blowing up and I am so stoked to be part of it. One of my favorite things about the published menu is the list of local produce at the end where I can see how a fabulous diversity of farms can produce a superarket’s worth variety of foods. We are so lucky. I’m so lucky.
Thank you and I look forward to serving it up in December.
Take Care,
Rachael Patton

Leave a Reply

