Under the Humboldt fog.

Why do you do it, I asked Reah, on the phone. I was overwhelmed with the paperwork and check writing, with ultimately deciding to open a business in the ‘business’ sense of this world. “I do it because I love it,” she said.

Today, I filed a business license with the City of Arcata and a fictitious business name with Humboldt County clerk. I had been putting it off all of October because doing it would make it real. I now, officially, direct money. I am now responsible for using my capitalist establishment to pay for infrastructure. And I voted. And I worked my day job. A very patriotic day indeed!

Last night, I worked in my commercial kitchen space, for the first time. It’s already worth it. I felt inspired to take the food project more seriously, meaning, I found some sincere energy from a deep pit in my confidence to realize the optimism that has been a challenge to not bury in trepidation. A hark-working week so far!

Wednesday (tomorrow)’s empanada del dia is presented in pictorial form:

The Hokkaido squash's wonderfully complex flavor delights the sides of the tongue with that earthen flavor that must be the taste of vitamin A, I imagine.
The Hokkaido squash’s wonderfully complex flavor delights the sides of the tongue with that earthen flavor that must be the taste of vitamin A, I imagine.
Acorns used to decorate the table when I was a kid. I always thought it was weird that we never ate them and ate pumpkin from a can. No one ate a pumpkin on Halloween either.
Acorns used to decorate the table when I was a kid. I always thought it was weird that we never ate them and ate pumpkin from a can. No one ate a pumpkin on Halloween either.
Empanadas are my love.
Empanadas are my love.
First, I put the squashes in to roast. Then, I put three yellow onions over a layer of sunflower oil and caraway seeds. About 2 teaspoons of salt released the juice of the onions. I also added 7 or 8 shiitakes to the mess in a covered roasting dish. I put that in to bake too. After 30 minutes, I added the fresh kernels of two ears of corn and put back in the oven.
First, I put the squashes in to roast. Then, I put three yellow onions over a layer of sunflower oil and caraway seeds. About 2 teaspoons of salt released the juice of the onions. I also added 7 or 8 shiitakes to the mess in a covered roasting dish. I put that in to bake too. After 30 minutes, I added the fresh kernels of two ears of corn and put back in the oven.

Also, on the menu is a pita with sweet potato spread, rainbows of Swiss chard, roasted beets, carrots, potatoes, cauliflower, and red peppers with zesty cilantro sauce;  Jackie Pokorski’s favorite condiment.

Wendy visited the Chico Farmer's market this past weekend and brought to me a case of sexy, organic, red peppers. That's what you're going to eat.
Wendy visited the Chico Farmer’s market this past weekend and brought to me a case of sexy, organic, red peppers. That’s what you’re going to eat.

Amazingly, again, another week of creating awesome foods from local produce! Seriously, even the ginger was from the county. Text or face me through Facebook

One thought on “Under the Humboldt fog.

Leave a Reply

