Apples, saving breakfast from extinction

Whoa, I nearly forgot that breakfast could be amazing. The thought of preparing food, in the morning, had lately inspired me to eat the morning meal. The other day, while thumbing through an old notebook, I came across a note regarding the method I use to make “raw porridge;” a great dish with a poor name. It's processed cashews, almonds, and apples, with a little spice and a touch of salt. Not only had I found the most perfect recipe to rediscover breakfast but also the most convenient; due to the warm climate, this year, the apples in the back yard are ready to be processed. This also means that it’s apple sauce season.

I adapted my recipe from one by Ani Phyo. If you care to dabble in raw foods and learn something profound with just how much you can create with plant-based ingredients (i can't think of one that isn't), try some of her essential recipes. Most of them can be orchestrated with little or no esoteric implements, which means you don't necessarily have to buy any new appliances or tools. Although, I strongly advocate for owning a good food processor. If you take care of $150 Kitchen Aid food processor, it will work really hard for you for a nice long time.

Anyway, back to breakfast. I'd better insert a picture now before losing your interest. I know I tend to trail off. It's just that there's always so much thought and detail that goes into everything I do.

 
 

Try this (and perhaps come up with a name):

Put one half cup of a mix of raw almonds and cashews into a food processor (my mom says that her nice blender can process almost anything too) and pulse until the nuts are finely ground. Then add quartered apples (one and half medium or one large one), a half thumb-sized chunk of fresh ginger that has already been finely grated, one half teaspoon of cardamom powder, juice from a quarter of a lime, the tiniest pinch of sea salt, and a small spoonful of natural sweetner.

Process until everything looks to be the consistancy of porridge.

Eat your delicious dish.

 
 

 

Some notes:

I ate a great deal of great food for the month I spent living in a tent. I hope to soon write a post about having the most delicious food with little or no fancy kitchen equipment.

If you miss my old Comida Corrida Thursday, you'll be glad to know that, in October, you can have lunch delivered on Wednesday and Thursday! Please let me know early if you're interested in setting up a weekly stop at your home, place of work, or leisure spot. More details will be posted as October nears.

I'm in the market for a bicycle trailer and would gladly trade scrumptious food for a used or custom-made one.

What we refer to as a cashew is the seed of Anacardia occidentale. Each cashew is harvested from a highly toxic fruit (in this case, the shell) that is attached to a non-toxic, fleshy, accessory fruit. The trees grow in tropical places. In 2010, Nigeria produced the largest amount of cashews. Brazil is our closest source of them. Nuts are worth every cent, so buy responsibly and waste not one.

 

Leave a Reply

