Comida Corrida Jueves for June 20, 2013

This week I've had multiple conversations about the value of a 100% transparency system being used as a tool to facilitate shifting our mentality about an economy. I really think that if we were able to observe how money flows into and out of a system (remember studying energy flow in systems in physics?), we would really be able to wrap our heads around what is really valuable. I deeply hypothesize that a sustainable and healthy place to cultivate food (part of our essential energy source) is valuable and money is valueless. As much as I desire to abolish money, the idea of money, those stacks of paper that we focus on gaining more of, it is difficult to fully implement. If it's ever going to happen, we need to know exactly what we're dealing with and we need to understand it fully.

“So, why haven't you presented your books yet?” you ask. A few reasons: a, it's a lot of time on the computer that I haven't committed to yet, b, it's a hugely alternative undertaking that might make me self conscious about what I'm doing, and c, (which actually ties in with b) exposing our finances is very much what we've been trained to not do. I suppose I understand the idea of privacy in finances but I don't think it's right to not have access to the ins and outs of our common finances, ie. federal, state, and local finances that we pay taxes toward. Yes, people who know how to work are in charge of making sure it goes to the right place. But there seems to be lots of discrepensies regarding the “right place.” Then, we really fly off of our rockers when this money is spent on the “wrong things.” Let's get on the same page and actually watch the money flow into and out of institutions. I want to demonstrate that on a small, manageable scale in the style of a capitalist business, which is, after all, the core of of our privitized and “public” economy. It's incredibly difficult to make big changes and they take time, patience, and an incredibly open mind. Sometimes, I question my open-mindedness when I think of taking this leap. Truthfully though, I am convinced that this is what I want to do.

A head's up: I will be working out in Lassen Volcanic National Park from mid July through mid August, doing field work for an ecologist at HSU. We are surveying stands that contain Pinus albicaulis, or Whitebark pine, for blister rust. Thus, lunch will not be served by me during that time. In the meantime, please know that your support goes toward the repairing of my car that I must use for my field job. A bicycle cannot pragmatically carry our equipment.

Look for 100% transparency on Food is love, Love is food after summer is over.

Gratitude

Rachael

 

601-1145 for a bicycle delivery

Menu

(Today's menu items are named after thinkers that I deeply admire.)

Elizabeth Warren

A Homemade Grilled Buckwheat Rice Tortilla with Fennel Sunflower Seed Pate, Lemon Vinaigrette-dressed Chard, Grilled Zucchini, Carrots, and Onions, Roasted Golden Beets, and topped with Tangy Pickled Red Onions and Fresh Radishes. $7.00

Janine Benyus

Multicolored Quinoa, Kumquat Kohlrabi Turnip Fennel Salad Tossed with Zesty Cilantro Sauce, Roasted Golden Beets, and Shredded Carrot. All wrapped in a Steamed Collard Leaf. $7.00

Sources

all ingredients are sourced exclusively from trade with farmers, the North Coast Growers' Association Farmer's Market, and through our beloved Co-op

Wild Rose Farm-BlueLake (Quinoa, Cilantro, Collard Leaves)

Willow Creek Farm-Willow Creek (Carrots, Zucchinis, Beets)

Flora Organica-McKinleyville (Fennel Bulb)

Laughing Mother Farm-Bayside (Radishes, Turnips, Kohlrabi)

My Own Vegetable Garden and Grounds-Bayside (Chard)

Non-local California Farms (Kumquats, Onion, Garlic, Rice Flour)

Somewhere USA (Buckwheat Flour, Sunflower Seeds)

Mexico (Garlic)

 

3 thoughts on “Comida Corrida Jueves for June 20, 2013

  1. Rooted Fist

    Transparency is crucial. I am sure that many people have their ideas on how money should be spent/utilized, though transparency would at least take off the perceived shroud to allow the PEOPLE to make educated choices and to stay informed. What a revolutionary idea.

Leave a Reply

